Rhapsody in Autism.

Standard

It’s about time to post about this blog’s namesake– Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue.

Anyone who knows our family personally knows that our children had a genetic predisposition for all things music; with parents like us, it is sort of unavoidable to, at least, like it.  As it seems, both of our little ones have natural propensities for music, which can make for a lot of fun in our home.  Our daughter is delighted to sit on my husband’s lap while he plays piano– she sort of grabs onto one of his arms and bobs along and listens.  And my son’s best eye contact comes when I sing to him– it’s also a great way to pull words out of him, too, because he knows the words to almost every song I have ever sung to him.

Funny enough, both of them look at me most and smile at me the brightest when I sing — at any given moment– Meredith Wilson’s “‘Til there was you.”  This just happens to be the song I liked to sing to them both in utero (for whatever reason) so maybe they really did hear all that singing and liked it.  I can tell myself that anyway, right?

Our son specifically loves jazz and anything that a child his age would generally not have a preference for… his longtime favorite now is “Rhapsody in Blue.”  And I think it’s twofold for him at this point, because he not only loves it if we play it on CD, on spotify, in the car, whatever, but he also loves to watch the Fantasia 2000 clip of it on youtube.  And lucky for us, this calms him, for instance, when he’s in a crowded, germy ER.  Also lucky for us, we love “Rhapsody in Blue.”

So that’s why this blog is titled “Rhapsody in Autism.”  It’s a play on words that works fairly literally.  It has been great to see that readership is growing on here, so thanks for being here.  We’re happy to share our story.

About rhapsodyinautism

I'm a Mom of two little ones-- a two-year-old son newly diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder and a baby girl who is too young to make any guesses. I work a little bit from home for an environmental nonprofit, and I am a freelance journalist. I love cooking, singing, and autumn weather. And I'm married to a brilliant, involved Daddy. My son is an auburn-haired smartypants who loves trucks and jazz. He taught himself the alphabet at 20 months. He has a beautiful social smile, but he finds eye contact aversive. He is the reason I am writing this blog... because there is a huge lack in legislation, funding, insurance coverage, and understanding in regards to autism spectrum disorders. This will be my place to advocate, tell the tale of our journey, and hopefully share a few tears and laughs along the way. This is our family life, and we have embraced it.

Leave a Reply

