Sh*t that makes my son laugh.

Standard

We’re busy here lately.

Monday

2.5 hrs Developmental Intervention

Tuesday

1 hr Speech Therapy

Wednesday

OFF

Thursday

1.5 hrs. Developmental Intervention

1 hr. Occupational Therapy

30 min. ABA

Friday

1 hr. Occupational Therapy

30 min. ABA

 

Fairly soon, it will drop to 2 x 1.5 hr DI sessions with the addition of some form of Physical Therapy.  In addition to what our schedule above says here, I model my play with Floortime, and I do 2 x 15 min ABA sessions for eye contact daily in addition to daily teachable moments.  My husband is going to start getting him to a 30 min weekly Music Therapy group, too.  Major changes come in late April when he will start a “preschool” program 2 mornings per week instead of DI.

 

So, to celebrate how busy we are, I will tell you that my son thinks words are hilarious.  Seriously, he laughs so unbelievably hard at just the saying of a word sometimes that all in the room chuckle.  He is a giggle machine.  Here are some words and phrases that have causes particular hilarity:

plop

gook

crumb

fuzzy wuzzy

rump

pumpernickel

coaster

blood

toaster

 

About rhapsodyinautism

I'm a Mom of two little ones-- a two-year-old son newly diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder and a baby girl who is too young to make any guesses. I work a little bit from home for an environmental nonprofit, and I am a freelance journalist. I love cooking, singing, and autumn weather. And I'm married to a brilliant, involved Daddy. My son is an auburn-haired smartypants who loves trucks and jazz. He taught himself the alphabet at 20 months. He has a beautiful social smile, but he finds eye contact aversive. He is the reason I am writing this blog... because there is a huge lack in legislation, funding, insurance coverage, and understanding in regards to autism spectrum disorders. This will be my place to advocate, tell the tale of our journey, and hopefully share a few tears and laughs along the way. This is our family life, and we have embraced it.

Leave a Reply

