Where We Are Now.

Standard

My son is 19 months older than my daughter.  Today I can truly say she has surpassed him in her ability to communicate her emotions and needs in her simple use of nonverbal communication (pointing, showing).  I am overjoyed that my daughter is meeting such crucial milestones in social-emotional growth.  I am grieving that my son is now falling behind his baby sister, albeit they are “close” in age, in a part of his development.  When I take this into consideration with his truly emerging sight reading skills, his math skills, his command of colors, shapes, amazing memory, impressive comprehension skills of concepts like butterfly life cycles, incredible language abilities (his USE is the problem) for his age… I have a child who is almost six years old in some ways and eight months old in other ways.  He’s pretty much daytime potty trained, but he freaks out when he has to put his pants back up- and he surely hasn’t the skill set yet to pull them up himself.  I guess it’s no wonder that he is having violent outbursts and meltdowns.  How frustrated he must be to be so beyond and so behind.  

And I just love him.  I love him so.  And I love my daughter, too… I feel for her right now.  She is walking all over the place now, and my son is not happy about her being all over the place… it is not easy to be the little sister right now, and I feel for her.  I feel for her big time.

About rhapsodyinautism

I'm a Mom of two little ones-- a two-year-old son newly diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder and a baby girl who is too young to make any guesses. I work a little bit from home for an environmental nonprofit, and I am a freelance journalist. I love cooking, singing, and autumn weather. And I'm married to a brilliant, involved Daddy. My son is an auburn-haired smartypants who loves trucks and jazz. He taught himself the alphabet at 20 months. He has a beautiful social smile, but he finds eye contact aversive. He is the reason I am writing this blog... because there is a huge lack in legislation, funding, insurance coverage, and understanding in regards to autism spectrum disorders. This will be my place to advocate, tell the tale of our journey, and hopefully share a few tears and laughs along the way. This is our family life, and we have embraced it.

Leave a Reply

